Succulent Gardens Galore!

pexels-photo-185499Do you love the thought having flower pots around the house, but struggle to keep whatever plant is inside of it alive? Well that is a struggle I continue to face time and time again. Fortunately and unfortunately, I have come to the realization that I do not have a green thumb and I have, for the most part, accepted it.

I love flowers-flowers as gifts, both to give and to receive, flowers as decorations and flowers around the house, but my relationship with them is a bit of a love/hate. No matter how often I change the water, pluck the wilted pedals and care for the flowers in my life, they always seem to die within a weeks time. They bring me such joy, but cost me so much. That was, until I found a trendy solution to the whole flower pot idea. The solution- succulents.

Succulents are a group of plants that store their water in their leaves. Allowing them to survive in dryer climates, require less watering, and ultimately less maintenance. Now this does not mean that they do not need water, it just means they need less of it than flowers do. This trendy solution to flowers has become all the rage lately, but how do you get started on building your succulent garden?

According to The Home Depot’s Garden Club, it does not take much. Creating a succulent garden is a fun, easy, and creative way to get inspired. What you will need is, of course, the succulents, cacti and succulent potting mix, small rocks or pea gravel, and a flowerpot or terrarium dish (with a drainage whole). Place items accordingly and before you know it, you will have a succulent garden for yourself, your friend, or your home. To read more about how to create your succulent masterpiece, visit The Home Depot Garden Club for details.

This entry was posted in Creatives and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.